everyone should have a menage a trois on their birthday

Monday was Zack’s birthday.  If you’re concerned with where this story’s going, it’s not what you think…

For someone who loves burgers so much, I knew immediately what we were going to eat for the birthday dinner.  Burgers!

However, I couldn’t just take him to any old burger joint in the city.  I wanted something classy yet laid-back, sophisticated yet delicious. I wanted the best burger in NYC!

I did a couple internet searches for “best burger NYC” and you wouldn’t believe how undecided New Yorkers are about where to get such a simple thing.

Of course, Shake Shack consistently rose to the top of everyone’s lists, but I couldn’t take Zack to an outdoor hut for his 24th…

I looked at quite a few menus, and alas, none were really that inspiring.   That was until I came across this short but sweet burger selection at Daniel Bouloud’s DBGB Kitchen and Bar:

THE YANKEE
6 oz beef patty with iceberg
tomato & vidalia onion on a
sesame bun, essex st. pickle, fries
(add some bacon to that and we’re set!)

THE PIGGIE
6 oz beef patty topped with daisy mays bbq pulled pork jalapeno mayonnaise & boston lettuce on a cheddar-cornbread bun with mustard-vinegar slaw, fries
(droool…)

THE FRENCHIE
6 oz beef patty with confit pork belly
arugula, tomato-onion compote
& morbier cheese on a peppered brioche bun
with cornichon, mustard & fries
(pork belly and arugula on a burger?! done and done.)

THE MENAGE A TROIS
all three burgers with the works

As soon as I saw the menage a trois, I was sold! All of those burgers sounded delicious, so to have the three as one item on the menu (i.e. no judgement cast), genius!

See? And you thought I had a dirty mind, didn’t you?

As we waited for our burgers to arrive, we had ourselves some imported ales (they had an amazing selection of beer) and enjoyed an appetizer of spicy italian sausage with slow cooked fennel and tomato…

The mellow sweetness of the fennel complimented the spicy/sweet sausage so well! It was juicy and crisp, and so wonderfully tasty.  I almost wanted to cancel the burgers and try all the other sausages on the menu (there are 14 to choose from, all made in-house). Almost.

Finally, the main event arrived…

Let me show you that again…

Yup. That’s deliciousness on a bun.  All three burgers were pretty distinct and pretty darn good.  I had a hard time settling on a favorite, while Zack pretty easily said he liked the Yankee best (of course) and then the Piggie followed by the Frenchie.

The Yankee was a classic burger – meat, tomato, cheese, bacon – so there’s no going wrong there.  If it weren’t for the thick-cut bacon on this burger, I wouldn’t have given it a chance.  But one bite of the crisp, smokey bacon made me swoon!

Beyond that, the Yank wasn’t very special.

The Piggie, I decided, was my favorite.  Pulled pork, slaw, jalepeno mayo…so good!

The Frenchie was the underdog (er burger) in this menage a trois with its arugula and horseradish mayo. I enjoyed the fresh crunch of spicy arugula, but wished I could taste the pork belly confit more (it got lost in the richness of the meat and cheese).

And as if three burgers, one sausage and two beers wasn’t enough for two people, we ordered dessert to boot.

Little did I know that they were also going to bring out a dessert in honor of the birthday boy, so we ended up with two!  It was a gluttonous night to remember…

The birthday boy blows out the candle…isn’t that cute!

The sundays were:

COFFEE-BOURBON
caramelized pecans, brownies, bourbon gelée
coffee tuile & whipped cream
(you had me at caramelized pecans.)

MINT-CHOCOLATE
chocolate sorbet, truffles, cocoa nib crunchies
chocolate chip cookies & whipped cream
(mm…I like truffles…)

So there you have it! The birthday boy is one year older, and we are all just a little bit fatter. Happy Birthday Zacky Pants!

:)

Tagged

One thought on “everyone should have a menage a trois on their birthday

  1. Jaime says:

    Happy Birthday indeed! I don’t eat burgers but that looks delicious :)
    Hope you’re doing well!
    xo. Jaime

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

